More than half of Senate Democrats already have come out against Supreme Court nominee Neil Gorsuch — some planning to support a filibuster if it comes to that.

That means the Senate could be in for a showdown vote in early April. 

With 52 Republicans and 48 Democrats in the chamber, the majority party needs eight Democrats to join them to break a filibuster (which takes 60 votes). All Republicans are expected to back the nominee. But if they can’t get to 60, they could deploy the so-called “nuclear option” to lower the threshold and push through to confirmation on a simple majority — a major change in Senate precedent. 

So far, however, only two Democrats have come out saying they would support Gorsuch — Sens. Joe Manchin of West Virginia and Heidi Heitkamp of North Dakota. 

Here’s where the rest stand, not including those who have taken no position:

Senators opposed to Gorsuch; supporting a filibuster:

1.  Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer, D-N.Y.

2.  Sen. Tammy Baldwin, D-Wis.

3.  Sen. Cory Booker, D-N.J.

4.  Sen. Tom Carper, D-Del.

5.  Sen. Bob Casey, D-Pa.

6.  Sen. Dick Durbin, D-Ill.

7.  Sen. Al Franken, D-Minn.

8.  Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand, D-N.Y. 

9.  Sen. Kamala Harris, D-Calif.

10. Sen. Maggie Hassan, D-N.H.

11. Sen. Mazie Hirono, D-Hawaii

12. Sen. Jeff Merkley, D-Ore.

13. Sen. Tim Kaine, D-Va.

14. Sen. Amy Klobuchar, D-Minn.

15. Sen. Patty Murray, D-Wash.

16. Sen. Chris Murphy, D-Conn.

17. Sen. Bill Nelson, D-Fla.

18. Sen. Gary Peters, D-Mich.

19. Sen. Jack Reed, D-R.I.

20. Sen. Bernie Sanders, D-Vt.

21. Sen. Jeanne Shaheen, D-N.H.

22. Sen. Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich. 

23. Sen. Tom Udall, D-N.M.

24. Sen. Elizabeth Warren, D-Mass.

25. Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse, D-R.I.

26. Sen. Ron Wyden, D-Ore.

27. Sen. Chris Van Hollen, D-Md.

28. Sen. Ed Markey, D-Mass.

29. Sen. Martin Heinrich, D-N.M.

30. Sen. Maria Cantwell, D-Wash.

31. Sen. Tammy Duckworth, D-Ill.

32. Sen. Richard Blumenthal, D-Conn.

33. Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto, D-Nev.

34. Sen. Brian Schatz, D-Hawaii

35.  Sen. Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio

36. Chris Murphy, D-Conn.

37. Claire McCaskill, D-Mo. 

Senators opposed to Gorsuch; position on filibuster unclear: 

1.  Sen. Ben Cardin, D-Md.

2.  Sen. Patrick Leahy, D-Vt. 

The Senate Judiciary Committee is scheduled to vote on April 3. Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, R-K.Y., said they plan to vote to confirm Gorsuch on the Senate floor on April 7.

Fox News’ Bill Mears and Amy Leedecke contributed to this report.

Brooke Singman is a Reporter for Fox News. Follow her on Twitter at @brookefoxnews.

Source link

About the Author:

Leave a Reply