Two Democrats have vowed to vote for President Trump’s nominee to lead the Environmental Protection Agency, Oklahoma Attorney General Scott Pruitt.

Sens. Joe Manchin of West Virginia and Heidi Heitkamp of North Dakota, both from conservative fossil-fuel producing states, said they are going to vote for the nominee despite a last-ditch effort by Democrats to stall a final floor vote on Pruitt’s confirmation.

“Once Mr. Pruitt is confirmed to lead EPA, I’ll work to make sure EPA focuses on smart regulation and works with states and local communities to address issues like the unworkable Waters of the U.S. rule and the punitive final Clean Power Plan rules,” Heitkamp said.

She has said that the Clean Power Plan, the Obama administration’s far-reaching climate rule, was unfairly hard on her state, which is the largest oil producer in the upper Midwest through fracking. The carbon dioxide reductions the EPA called for North Dakota to achieve were higher than any other state.

“Though I have concerns about his commitment to a comprehensive energy strategy that includes renewables and his commitment to reduce emissions to protect our air and water, I’ll work to hold Pruitt accountable and make sure North Dakota’s interests are heard,” Heitkamp added.

Manchin’s office said he plans to vote for Pruitt.

White House to conduct close review of intelligence agencies

Top Story

New York hedge fund manager Stephen Feinberg will lead the effort.

02/16/17 10:21 AM

Subscribe to Alerts

Learn more about Washington Examiner’s Alerts

Loading Next Article

Source link

About the Author:

Leave a Reply